He Was Only A Private Soldier

When I look around internet-land, it always disappoints me when I see so many great comics ignored. And two of the comics that seem to get constantly overlooked are D C Thomson’s Hotspur and Wizard. Which is a shame as both of those comics featured some amazing art.

And for me, any comic that featured the debut of King Carlos for one of the major publishing companies has to be a comic that fans need to be aware of. And so it was, that 42 years ago almost to the day, that the first story that featured Carlos Ezquerra’s art was published in the Wizard. The story was He Was Only A Private Soldier and it centred on the Zulu War of 1879. Now as it is the debut of Carlos Ezquerra, I am going to do something naughty. And that is print the entire run. This will allow the Maestro to look at his work again over a gap of 42 years. And that really has got me grinning in knowing that I will have such an esteemed reader of this post!

I have posted the entire run for the express purpose of allowing Carlos to once again look at his work and (c) for the pages is retained by D C Thomson. So, if I even get an expression of mild disapproval from them, then most of the pages will be removed to keep DCT happy so enjoy them while you can.

He Was Only A Private Soldier 001 He Was Only A Private Soldier 002 He Was Only A Private Soldier 003 He Was Only A Private Soldier 004 He Was Only A Private Soldier 005 He Was Only A Private Soldier 006 He Was Only A Private Soldier 007 He Was Only A Private Soldier 008 He Was Only A Private Soldier 009 He Was Only A Private Soldier 010 He Was Only A Private Soldier 011 He Was Only A Private Soldier 012 He Was Only A Private Soldier 014 He Was Only A Private Soldier 015 He Was Only A Private Soldier 016 He Was Only A Private Soldier 017

5 thoughts on “He Was Only A Private Soldier

  1. That was fantastic! I know nothing about cartoons but I can appreciate a good story. It took me right back as I used to swipe my brother’s comic when I was a little girl. He didn’t half get annoyed.
    Also, it is a real pleasure to hear the happiness in your voice when you discuss your subject.

    Like

Leave a Reply

