Chained To His Bat

I have really got to stop enjoying this research project to find as much of Ron Smith’s work for D C Thomson as possible. But I keep finding such diamonds such as my last article about The Spy In The Sputnik. As I am working through the Hotspur 200s, I find that Ron’s work is a bit thin on the ground. Thankfully Ian Kennedy’s work has not been that thin on the ground. As I have always been an Ian Kennedy fan, I have found that the hardest part of this project has been to ignore Ian’s work.

However my latest find is something that I could not ignore. I have done my best to skim over any work of Ian’s that I found, but when I saw this picture, I just could not help myself.

Chained To His Bat Hotspur 245 19640628

This wacky idea of a player chained to his bat ran from issue 244 to 255 (20th June to 5th September 1964)

Now those that know me will be aware that I am not a sporty person. Neither am I from a demographic that should find cricketing whites exciting. But I was slowly brainwashed by my dad into enjoying cricket, so this post is dedicated to him. Even though I still don’t have a clue why he loved cricket or golf so much.

It has been a few years since he passed away, but even now I still pick up the phone when I hear a wacky England cricket score or someone scoring 10 or more under par and try to call him to see if he has heard the latest score. Just to finish off, I will give you another image from the story Chained To His Bat.

Chained To His Bat Hotspur 246 19640704

Robert Noble. 15 June 1926 to 4 January 2000. RIP Dad.

5 thoughts on “Chained To His Bat

  1. Greetings, Coolcol, and thanks for sharing your interest in Ian Kennedy, who remains what he has been to me for well over half a century: the greatest comic strip artist who ever dipped a pen in ink and a brush in paint. I happen to have, if you don’t – which seems an unlikely supposition – the complete Chained To His Bat strips, as well as Ian’s I Flew in the Battle of Britain. These, alas, are all that remain of the scores of Big Four issues dating form the late 50s through to around ’63 which my mother cheerfully gave away to undeserving and unappreciative relations without, needless to say my consent or even consulting with their owner who mourns their loss to this day, some 40 + years after the calamitous event. Cutting to the chase: if you would like to add my meagre treasures to your own impressive collection, I will be pleased to mail same to you. Cheers, and thanks for all you share with your followers here. Regards, Malcolm Norton, resident of Cape town, South Africa .

    Like

    1. Malcolm, thank you for that kindness. I would love to have the comics and any doubles I end up with are either swapped with fellow collectors or passed on to the growing University of Dundee comic collection.

      Like

  2. This is amazing, for I was looking for a British comic strip that I vaguely recall from long ago about a girl who was chained to her cricket bat. I have this mental image of a plain, short-haired girl who was the subject of the strip. Searching for a reference to this led me here. This is all of no real significance to me, other than I wanted to confirm that this strip did once exist, and is not merely some sort of wayward memory of mine. I contend that I ran across it in a newspaper in Carnlough, N. Ireland, in the late 50’s perhaps.

    Like

    1. Willy,

      Comments like this make the blog worthwhile. So glad you liked the article and if I ever find anything where a girl is chained to a bat, I will let you know. Mind you, in this day and age, it sounds more like a E L James novel!

      Like

Leave a Reply

