Merry Christmas Everyone

For me, nothing reflects Christmas better than an annual. And of all the annuals, I can think of none that better reflect the idea of a Christmas annual cover than what was produced by Ian Kennedy for the 1977 The Victor annual.

The Victor Annual 1977

As we can see from the image that I have ‘borrowed’ from Book Lover Oxford, this has the lot. We have action, we have snow, we have someone fighting against almost insurmountable odds. When I attended the Will Eisner weekend at Dundee University in 2015, some people were asked to put forward their favourite comic page.

A few cheated and put forward not only their favourite comic page, but also their favourite comic cover. I took advantage of that loophole and talked for two minutes about how dynamic this cover was and when it was finally revealed, by the talents of my other half, Karen Noble and Phillip Vaughan, it showed that the only part of the cover that I had failed to describe was the enemy patrol in the middle of the page.

Not bad for a cover that I had only seen fleetingly when I had moved from one military unit to another over the last ten years.

I am sharing this image as a thank you to all of you that have read this blog over the last few months. I hope that you are enjoying the crumbs that I am bringing to the table of British comic fandom and I hope that you will continue to read this blog and take as much enjoyment from it as I am trying to add.

One thought on “Merry Christmas Everyone

  1. Many thanks for all these UK gems that you have posted so far. I loved the Victor and have been lucky enough recently to find a few annuals at a local car boot sale, 1981 & 1985. I hope 2016 will be even better for your blog, have a Merry Christmas!

    Like

Leave a Reply

