Mirror Mirror

Something I enjoy and I have touched on it before is that I like it when there is a homage to an old comic or a referral to a particular piece of culture. In fact, my previous article was about Easter Eggs and was titled Do You See What I See?

So when Kevin Smith (he of Mallrats and Silent Bob fame) pops up on my social media and shows me a picture that references Georges Seurat’s masterpiece of pointillism “A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte”, it can’t help but make me smile and I hope that it will make you smile too.

Just so that we all know what we are talking about, here is the original which was painted in 1884 and a comprehensive description of the painting can be found on Wikipedia.

A_Sunday_on_La_Grande_Jatte_Georges_Seurat_1884

For a DC organised charity auction in 2013 called We Can Be Heroes, an artist called Rey Taira was commissioned to create two wonderful pieces of art in homage to this. The first was titled Saturday Morning In Front Of LaSalle De Justice and the second was Sunday Evening By The Legion Of Doom.

Now this is the first time that I have seen them, but for referencing Pointillism and doing it with such an amazing  inclusion of modern popular culture, you have got to give Rey kudos for creating such wonderful paintings.

So that you can all enjoy the art that was created, I have managed to track down pictures of both Saturday Morning and Sunday Evening for you all to enjoy.

Rey Taira Saturday Morning In Front Of LaSalle DeJustice

As you can see, the influence is obvious and bonus points for identifying all the heroes. I know that I can’t but as my preference is for British comics, I am content to name more than five in each of the paintings. And here we have Sunday Evening.

Rey Taira Sunday Evening By The Legion Of Doom

Leave a Reply

