What was that called again? Part 5

It is always gratifying when you can see your work being appreciated and in the next week or so, John Freeman has told me that he will be re-posting Parts 2, 3 and 4 of this occasional series on Down The Tubes. And as I have added another recommendation in, I thought that it would not be a bad idea to create part 5 so that I could recommend a few more of the web sites that I use as go to areas when I am researching different aspects of comics.

My reason for it being a semi-regular basis is that I am a voracious reader and I can read throw a novel in a few hours. A Commando comic will keep me reading for about ten minutes and I will go throw an issue of a story paper in anything between 30 and 45 minutes so I only read web blogs or web comics in batches every month or so otherwise I read an article and I am at a loss as to what I can read next.

So here are my next list of sites to visit.

Blimey! It’s Another Blog About Comics is the site run by comic artist, writer and fan extraordinaire Lew Stringer (check out his work site here). Lew has been drawing for more years than he probably cares to admit and has been a comic fan since the … for even longer! His site truly is a smorgasbord of comic goodness ranging from Comic Cuts to Combat Colin and many stops in between. Lew’s site is a must visit on almost any British comic topic you care to name. Oh, and he draws Brickman too!

My Little Underground is the story of a comic fan made good. Glen Miller grew up in Glasgow in the 1970s and 1980s and went on to work in the comic retail industry and has many tales that will leave you in tears of laughter of the various antics that he has been either involved in or being witness to. In fact, Glen’s site provided much background information for me when I was researching my article on conventions in the UK.

The Victor incorporating The Hornet and Hotspur is another great research site. Created and run by Adrian Banfield since 2008, Adrian does an update each and every month and features a little bit more on each of these three staples of the D C Thomson’s boys’ comics output.

The Topper Universe is one that I had as a favourite a while ago but as I transferred from one machine to the next, it was one that I had lost and I am so glad to find it again. This is a great piece of research breaking down the stories by the number of appearances and the issues that they appeared in. If you are researching a specific character, that last piece of information is absolute gold as it helps to narrow down your search to what boxes you need to check or which friends you have to annoy to borrow those issues.

Grand Comics Database is another site to add to your reference bookmarks. It is another internet-based organization of international volunteers dedicated to building a database covering all printed comics throughout the world. This is another useful piece of research for someone like myself as it allows me to build up comic knowledge at my own pace.

I know this piece has been very light on graphics so I will give you all a treat and show off one of the Jeff Bevan pictures that will be featuring in one of the future Down The Tubes’ articles.

IMG_0193

Leave a Reply

