Keeping The Faith

Yes, it has been a long time since my last post and it has not been for a lack of stuff to say about comics.  Alas, I have issues with my hands and overdoing it on the gaming front which means that it only hurts when I type…

I am investigating other means of continuing this blog either as a podcast or as a video log, but they can end up costing money which I prefer to spend on comics.  And it is this spending on comics that I want to talk about.

Thanks to the internet, it can put you in touch with so many people that are into the same things as you are.  However, it can also highlight how much your interest is a minority interest so if there are 50 fans of the same thing across the world, it can be quite depressing.

But enough of them negative vibes Moriarty, I am here to chat about my latest boost to my Commando collection.  A gentleman of Celtic ancestry posted that he had a fair collection to sell on a social media site.  As a person who is concerned that comics can end up unloved and homeless, I naturally put myself forward as a future guardian.  After a small amount of negotiation, we were able to transfer the comics from his home to mine.  As a result, I came home to a delivery of boxes.

Before I go any further, I had better lay out a few assumptions that I had made.  The first was that as the seller had said that the collection went from the 1960s to the current issues, I could expect a few more gaps to be filled in the pre-decimal range (Commandos published up to mid-1970 or earlier are classed as pre-decimal issues).  The seller had said that he had 800 plus issues so I hoped that out of that total, I would expect to see maybe at best 80 of the issues be pre-decimal issues (or 10% if you prefer).  Alas, no. What I get is 5 pre-decimal issues for Commando and of those 5, 3 of them are doubles! Talk about insult to injury!

However the seller had sent a pile of random picture libraries, picture library holiday specials and a picture library monthly which ranged from the 1960s to the 1980s as part of the purchase.  For me, those extras more than made up for the failure of my first assumption.

My second assumption was that I would fill a few gaps in the sub 2000 range. But after seeing the collection that I had bought, I realised that its’ strength was not in the bottom end of the Commando range but in the top end.  So that I can give you a better idea of what gaps were filled, this collection filled 2 gaps in the 1 to 495 range and it then filled another 53 in the 496 to 1999 range.  Alas, I did not take much notice of what gaps were filled in the 2000 or 3000 range so I can’t comment on exactly how many gaps were filled in those ranges.  However, it was my final check once I had entered the fact that I had issue 4974 that showed me that this purchase had filled 642 gaps in my collection.

No matter what you hope to achieve as a collector, any purchase that fills that many gaps in your collection has to be classed as a great deal as long as it is below your economic limit for such a deal.  For any Commando collector, it is obvious as to how much that added to my collection, but as many are not Commando collectors, it’s hard to describe your emotions over a deal that completes over 10% of your collection in one go.

Leave a Reply

